UCLA Pioneers elected to National Academy of Engineering

Three faculty members of the UCLA Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science – Jason Cong and George Varghese of Computer Science, and Behzad Razavi of Electrical Engineering (pictured left to right above) – have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, among the highest honors that can be accorded to an American engineer. The academy announced the 2017 class of 84 members and 22 foreign members on February 8.

With the election of Cong, Varghese and Razavi, UCLA Engineering has 35 affiliated faculty members who are members of the National Academy of Engineering.

Jingsheng Jason Cong, Distinguished Chancellor’s Professor of Computer Science, was recognized by the academy “for pioneering contributions to application-specific programmable logic via innovations in field programmable gate array (FPGA) synthesis.”

George Varghese, Chancellor’s Professor of Computer Science, was recognized by the academy “for network algorithmics that make the Internet faster, more secure, and more reliable.”

Behzad Razavi, Chancellor’s Professor of Electrical Engineering, was recognized by the academy “for contributions to low-power broadband communication circuits.”

For more details, please visit http://engineering.ucla.edu/ucla-pioneers-in-customized-computing-communication-circuits-networking-elected-to-national-academy-of-engineering/

For Peking University press release, please visit http://news.pku.edu.cn/xwzh/2017-02/19/content_296744.htm

For World Journal press, please visit http://www.worldjournal.com/4846224/article-叢京生獲選國家工程學院院士/